Step into my office

J'adore MC. Jenny, Myrza, Rorie and I take a break from training at the Marie Claire Paris Headquarters

J'adore MC. Jenny, Myrza, Rorie and I take a break from training at the Marie Claire Paris Headquarters

In June 2005, I started my post as Marie Claire Philippines‘ beauty and fitness editor. Together with editor-in-chief Myrza Sison, art director Jenny Inumerable, and then fashion editor Rorie Carlos, I spent a dizzying week learning the ropes in Marie Claire’s headquarters in Paris. I worked closely with a wonderful staff that was created solely for Marie Claire international editions. We sat through long hours of training, attended shoots, got lost in the French magazine’s fashion and beauty closets, enjoyed 3-hour lunches, and swigged several glasses of champagne.

We went home and started toiling away. The next 3 1/2 years were tough, but we managed to produced each issue with love, hard work, and pride. Whenever women came up to me or wrote me saying that they loved the beauty editorial, that they learned a new beauty trick, or that they actually had a “burning beauty question,” I felt in my little heart that all the trying, headless-chicken times were worth it. That’s why when I learned that our dear baby was going to be laid to rest after 42 bloody, sweaty, teary issues, my heart sank. It cracked later that evening, and then broke the very next day.

The first issue of Marie Claire was hard to make, but the last one was even harder. As I finished the beauty pages of the FINAL issue of Marie Claire, I wondered if I could really say au revoir to all the women I’ve spoken to, taught, and entertained all these years. Will I stop teaching you how to give your lashes a nice curl, and not a sharp check mark? Will I keep product reviews on the latest lipstick, sunscreen, or moisturizer all to myself? And will I cease from making you laugh at your own makeup mishaps (or mine)? The answer of course, is no. So ladies (gentlemen too, if you like), I do not bid you au revoir. Instead I say hello, bonjour, hallo, ciao, sawasdee ka, mabuhay. Welcome to my beauty blog.

8 thoughts on “Step into my office

  1. Position lash curler (please don’t call it a CURLASH) at the base of your lashes. Gently squeeze and hold for 10 seconds. DON’T LET GO!!! Walk the lash curler up and continue to squeeze and let go, squeeze and let go as you reach the tips of your lashes.

  2. Ooh la la, magnifique, trés chic! Thus, my meager French 😀

    Congrats on the new blog, it’s already so much fun to read. I’ll link you up, k? Hugs.

    PS—
    Why not “curlash?” Hehehe… :p

  3. my teacher from the makeup school that i attended also told us not to call it “curlash” hehe..anyway, i was a marie clare fan, of all the fashion magazines out in the market, i only read marie clare..simply because it doenst tackle on beauty and fashion alone, but also the current issues of women..kumbaga BEAUTY and BRAINS ang marie clare 🙂 very informative indeed..i will definitely miss it 🙂

    • Hello, Dang! Ah, yes, I have great respect for makeup artists who know their stuff. 😉 “Curlash” is a very 70s parlorista term, so if you want people to take you seriously, use the proper term: lash curler.
      Yes, we all miss Marie Claire magazine indeed. Thanks for expressing your sentiments on the passing of a wonderful title.

  4. I had just asked a friend to send me the latest MC mag (along with others) when you told me about your blog and the news…:(

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

