Something to make you smile

I was styling beauty products for a Get The Look Beauty story for OK Magazine last Thursday. I twisted the cap of Maybelline’s Clear Smooth Minerals Luminous Blush (P499, leading department stores), and I was thrilled to find this:

Step 1: Twist off cap

Step 1: Twist off cap

Step 2: Peel of Sticker (but take note of application tips before discarding!)

Step 2: Peel off sticker (take note of application tips before discarding)

Step 3: Look behind the sticker and smile

Step 3: Look behind the sticker and smile

Okay, okay, so this smiley face may not be an added feature of Maybelline’s Mineral Line, but it was a pleasant surprise for me.

Even more pleasant was the effect of the blush on my cheeks. It was very easy to apply and blend, and gave off a very fresh, natural finish. I used it on the the bridal entourage whose makeup I did yesterday (members ranged from 30 to 60 plus!), and all five women were glowing. Now that’s something to smile about.

17 thoughts on “Something to make you smile

  1. I want to get this! As someone who hardly wears make up (lip balm and blush at the most), this looks like something I will regularly wear for that no-make up make up look. My Stainiac is almost finished too!

  2. Heehee, thanks, Rachel! I found it cute, too.
    Hey, Pinky! Yup, this is a great choice for that no makeup, makeup look you’re gunning for. πŸ™‚

  3. Nice bonus with that smile πŸ™‚

    I love mineral makeup; somehow, the blush always seems to have a more intense pop of color.

  4. now i cant decide whether to stick to my (opened, but unused) cheek tint or switch to mineral blush…

    PS, did you take more photos of the smiley face at the shoot? :p

    • Hey, Shoppa Holique! You should stick to both. πŸ™‚ Keep the tint for summer when the weather is more humid and you expect to sweat. The mineral blush is perfect for cooler, more dry days. And no, I didn’t shoot any more smiley faces. Just this one on the blog. πŸ˜‰

  5. I was just reading up on mineral make-up and was going to ask you for some brands you could recommend. Aside from Maybelline, what else is there?

    P499 for tha blush? Not a bad price to look poreless.

  6. dear marie,

    thanks for the mineral make-up tip. i just discovered e.l.f. mineral make-up & so far, i liked the results on me. being a homemaker with a budget, it’s a treat to try mga new kikay stuff and in fairness, it makes me happy. i’ll try the maybelline blush you mentioned.hope you will roadtest and recommend/& or give tips on new beauty products/beauty places for the budget conscious, but beauty concious moms out there…thanks!

    • Hello, Rima! I’ll clue you in on budget-friendly beauty discoveries in the future. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Other mineral makeup brands I’ve tried are: Laura Mercier (I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT), L’OrΓ©al (one of the first to come up with mineral), Max Factor, Guerlain, and MAC.

    • Hi there! Love the site, BTW. I’ve been eyeing that Maybelline mineral blush since I first saw the line in the States! (It’s called Mineral Power back there, but same diff.) I also have Maybelline’s mineral pressed powder in Dark – which I also use for contouring – and L’Oreal makes my go-to mineral foundation, which matches my skin pretty well.

      As for the other brands, I’ve also used MAC (liked it) and BareMinerals/ Bare Escentuals (love the Warmth bronze/powder, meh on the foundation formula). I’ve also gotten hooked on a US online retail site called Everyday Minerals – which has a wide range of shades and pretty good formulations – but I haven’t ordered from them since I moved back to the Philippines. Great stuff, though.

      • Hello, Meimei! Thanks so much for your comments and ratings. I really appreciate them and look forward to trying BareMinerals too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

