Estée Lauder: Beautiful inside and out

I’ve been having a hard time finding the drive to blog about anything lately, what with the tragedy brought about by typhoons Ondoy and Pepeng. Mentioning anything about makeup or skincare in the middle of this turmoil didn’t feel right.

Time to wear pink! Estée Lauder celebrates Breast Cancer Awareness Month
Time to wear pink! Estée Lauder celebrates Breast Cancer Awareness Month

But my hope in beauty was quickly restored when I came across Estée Lauder’s Pink Ribbon Breast Cancer Awareness Campaign. The Estée Lauder Companies Breast Cancer Awareness (BCA) campaign started in 1992 by Evelyn H. Lauder and SELF Magazine’s then editor-in-chief Alexandra Penney, when the two launched the Pink Ribbon, now known worldwide as the symbol of breast health. The campaigns have raised millions in educating women that early detection can help fight breast cancer.

Happy to support: Estée Lauder Group of Companies Ina Casas, Gay Lao, myself (representing Women's Health and The Beauty Coach), OK Magazine's Francis Amper and Kristine Ching, and Estée Lauder's big boss Mel Lerma
Happy to support: Estée Lauder Group of Companies Ina Casas, Gay Lao, myself (representing Women’s Health and The Beauty Coach), OK Magazine’s Frances Amper and Kristine Ching, and Estée Lauder’s big boss Mel Lerma

Here in the Philippines, the Estée Lauder Group of Companies (comprised ofEstée Lauder, Aramis Fragrances, La Mer, Bobbi Brown and Clinique) take part in the BCA by holding a Health and Wellness Weekend at the Fifth Level of Rustan’s Makati. I attended this event-packed gathering last Friday, together with breast cancer survivors and members of the icanserve foundation. All of us attendees excitedly lined up at the different booths sponsored by the companies mentioned above.

Tired eyes be gone! My eyes got a treat from the La Mer booth

Tired eyes be gone! My eyes got some pampering courtesy of La Mer

I had a soothing eye massage from the La Merbooth and still wanted to get my skin analyzed at the Estée Lauder booth, as well as skin treat from Clinique, find a fragrance that fit me at Aramis Designer Fragrances, and a makeover from Bobbi Brown, but it was time for the Iyengar Yoga session held by Rina Ortiz.

If you want to take part in this packed event, it’s not too late. Today is the last day of the Health and Wellness event (click here for a schedule of today’s events). Explore the pinkribbon.com.ph website and see how you can take home special treats from today’s event, while supporting the cause of breast cancer awareness. Now that’s what I call good news.

Photos by Wacky Gochoco, courtesy of Estée Lauder Group of Companies

10 thoughts on “Estée Lauder: Beautiful inside and out

  1. I loooooove the La Mer eye massage! I was afraid of the skin profiling at first until the lady told me I scored the highest in elasticity (92!). eyelahvet! but I’m baksak sa skin tone =(

  2. I love the color of your scarf, Marie!

    I know how you feel about talking about beauty and sparkly things after what happened. I usually try to promote my beauty articles when they come out, but the recent one was about eyebrow shaping—so I didn’t bother. Your blog post is really cool, though 🙂 I like that bit of trivia about Evelyn H. Lauder and Alexandra Penney teaming up to create the pink ribbon 🙂

    • Hey, thanks, Mariel! Yah I love that scarf too. It’s perfect for the Breast Cancer Awareness month! Glad you liked that bit of trivia. I was surprised too! 🙂

    • I didn’t try the skin profiling because there were women ahead of me, and it was time for the yoga class. (And I was afraid the technician would scold me for having inferior skin)

  3. You spelled my name wrong! =(

    I enjoyed seeing you at the event, Marie. Hoped to have spent more time with you, though. Miss ya! And I am so buying that pink Japanese mani-pedi set! Thanks for writing about it =)

    • Oh my goodness, Frances, I turned you into a man! Soooo sorry, I typed in a hurry. 😦 Corrected it already, though. Thanks for pointing this out, and sorry again.

      • Oh, it’s okay =) I’m used to it. I’m actually collecting receipts–the ways my name is spelled is hilarious. Our favorite–Vince and me–is “Princess Sally” =)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

