Postrace Footcare 101

Uh oh. I made a mistake of watching an enthralling episode of Fringe while filing my foot calluses. Sure, skin on my feet may be back to their soft, pre-race condition, but they feel as raw as the complexion of an underdeveloped Shapeshifter (for Fringe fans only).

The skin on my feet grew so thick because of training for my first ultramarathon (an ultramarathon is a foot race above 50 Km). For four months I ran on mixed road and trail terrains twice during the week, and back to back on weekends to prepare for The Northface 100 Km race which was held in Baguio last weekend. (Incidentally, HAPPY ONE WEEK ANNIVERSARY!! My race companions and I crossed the finish line of the TNF 100 around this time last Sunday.)

Checking the damage after the race

All those hours training as well as running/walking/climbing on race day (it took my running buddies and I over 29 hours to finish) caused the skin on my feet to get pretty thick (thankfully, not cracked). I needed the thick skin on race day to protect me from blisters. Now that it’s over, however, I can finally file my skin down to original form.

Before I got overzealous with my foot filer last night, I had a more ideal set up the day before: a basin filled with warm water and a mix of two relaxing treatments: Hot Pink Tease Exotic Coconut Epsom Salt Scrub (unfortunately this is no longer available at Hot Pink Lingerie, so generic Epsom Salts will do) and Earth Therapeutics Tea Tree Oil Foot Soak (P675, The Beauty Bar). I placed my feet in this heavenly concoction and leaned back on my couch. Minutes later I took I took my Pedro Ceramic Callus Rasp (P750, Zwilling J.A. Henckels) and gently filed my wet feet. I then rinsed off the solution, wiped my feet dry and massaged a generous amount of Clarins Foot Beauty Treatment Cream (P1,650, Rustan’s) all over my pampered tootsies.

7 thoughts on “Postrace Footcare 101

  1. hey marie! Ü just wondering if you’ve heard of foot pure? it’s like an intense peel for the feet. it looks a little scary, actually.

    • Hi, Nanny!
      Yes, my sister tried it some time back. It supposedly makes your feet as smooth as a baby’s, but in the process your feet molt! I saw her feet during this stage, and ulp, it wasn’t a pretty sight. I didn’t see the final cut, though.

  2. Hi
    Congratulations!
    I really admire those peeps doin ultramarathon.
    I hope to become one someday 😀

    Your article is inspiring, I hope I can get my feet back to its softness hehehe because I have bad feet and I feel ashamed everytime I have my pedi.

    Btw, you have a very nice site.

    Regards,
    Joy

    • Hello, Joy! Sooo sorry for the late reply. Thanks so much for the kind words. I’m glad you like my blog.
      Have you tried any of the products that I mentioned? Ah, an ultramarathoner in the making—that’s great to hear!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

